Langston Hughes Creative Writing Awards

Langston Hughes Creative Writing Awards

Since 1997, the Langston Hughes Award has sought to encourage and support poets and writers who, today, are continuing to present their life experiences creatively through poetry, stories, and non-fiction prose. Each year, two authors are awarded, one in fiction and one in poetry.

The event includes the awards ceremony and features a reading from each winning author, followed by a reception with cake and wine.

Read about the 2024 Award Winners!



Thursday, Feb. 1 | 7 pm

Lawrence Arts Center Gallery

Free and open to the public



The Raven Book Store

The Thomas D. Galloway  Family